Colorado Drivers Education - CO Drivers Ed for New Drivers
Need your instruction permit for Colorado? Then you definitely need drivers education. Colorado
has its own rules and regulations when it comes to getting your driving instruction permit from the DMV. Rather than spending hours
at a CO DMV or searching user-unfriendly sites trying to figure out your state's DMV requirements, you can use the links at
DrivingLinks.com to quickly figure out what you need to do to earn your permit for Colorado.
In Colorado, teens between the ages of 14½-17 can perform a Parent Taught Driver Education Program to help meet their state of Colorado DMV requirements for obtaining an instruction permit.
We suggest either Virtual Drive or Driver Ed in a Box, both brought to you by DriversEdDirect.com as your top choices to fulfill the CO DMV requirements:
COLORADO STATE REQUIREMENTS FAQ
How old do I have to be to take a Colorado driver education course?
The state of Colorado requires that you be at least 14½ years of age to take a Driver Education Course. You will not be able to receive a Learner's Permit until the age of 15.
What does my child, who is under age 18, have to do to get a Colorado instruction permit by using a Parent Taught Driver Education Course?
There are three types of permits available to minors:
- A minor may obtain the permit at age 15 if the minor is enrolled in an approved parent taught driver education course.
- Anyone under age 18 must have their permit for one year before being eligible for their license
- Regardless of when a minor obtains a permit, the minor must have the permit for 12 months before being eligible for licensing.
Detailed Steps to Obtaining an Instruction Permit
- A minor may obtain the permit at age 15 ONLY if the minor is enrolled in an approved driver education course.
- Expires 3 years from the date of issue.
- Must hold the permit for a minimum of 12 months before applying for a driver license.
- Must present a completed Affidavit of Liability and Guardianship (DR2460)
- May drive only with the driver ed instructor or the person(s) who signed the DR2460 until the age of 16½. This restriction is automatically lifted when the minor reaches 16½. May then drive with any licensed driver 21 years of age or older.
When can I get my Colorado Intermediate Driver's License?
Persons under age 18 must hold an instruction permit for at least twelve months and be 16 years old before they are eligible to take a driving test. Minors are given credit for any time they held a permit in this or any other state if they show the permit documentation. After obtaining your Learner’s Permit, you must complete 6 hours of behind-the-wheel training from a local driver education school, if a local school is available within 30 miles of your address. (This only applies to schools open a minimum of 20 hours per week.) If there is no local school available to you within 30 miles, you may complete an additional 12 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction with your parent or legal guardian. These 12 hours are in addition to the 50 hours of supervised behind-the-wheel driving time which is required by the state of Colorado.
Drivers Ed Directory by State
Remember, traffic laws and regulations vary from state to state. Not every state has he same requirements as Colorado does. Find out what your state DMV requirements are for getting a driving instruction permit - just click on your state below:
Here's what every good Colorado drivers ed course should offer:
Focus on becoming a safe driver, as well as helping you prepare to pass your Colorado instruction permit test
Course content should be written by an expert on traffic laws and defensive driving for the State of CO
Course should be approved by the Colorado Department of Motor Vehicles (CO DMV)
A realistic price (if the price is too good to be true, it's probably an unsanctioned course just out to get your money)
Practice Tests to help your teen prepare for the Colorado DMV instruction permit test. Practice tests should be free of charge to paid customers.
Drivers Ed Courses that offer more than just a regurgitation of the Colorado DMV handbook. Good drivers ed courses offer unique and interesting teaching methods that teens actually learn from. One leading Colorado driving school incorporates statistics and real world news stories into their presentations to help reinforce "dry" DMV handbook concepts
Online drivers ed courses are quickly becoming the standard for drivers education in Colorado. DMV Studies show that students taking online courses scored higher on their exit examinations than kids taking the antiquated classroom education. Does the driving school you're considering offer a Colorado DMV approved online drivers ed course?
The knowledge gained from a good, qualified drivers ed course decreases the chances of being involved in a costly, injurious or possibly deadly collision. When choosing the right CO drivers education for you or your loved ones, take the time to find a course that not only prepares them for their instruction permit test, but also teaches them how to drive safely for years to come.
Which state or DMV would you like more information for?